Your Settings page gives you detailed control of your account. You can manage the following:
User Information: The User Information module allows you to update your name, email address and password. It also allows you to link your Facebook account, so that you can pull your Facebook photos into LifePosts and share your LifePost content in your Facebook stream.
Billing information: The Billing Information module allows you to manage your credit card information and billing address. You can also see your billing history.
Email Notifications: The Email Notifications module allows you to manage how frequently or whether you receive email messages from LifePosts. The kinds of email messages you can receive are invitations to contribute to a LifePost, requests to contribute to your own LifePost, content creation and activity updates on your LifePosts, and messages from the LifePosts team. Your Activity Hub notifications will not be affected by changes to your email notifications. (Learn more about your Activity Hub.)
Milestone Visibility: This feature is for users who have created or contributed on many LifePosts who want to clean up their interface without deleting LifePosts. The Milestone Visibility module allows you to hide LifePosts from your Activity Stream and the Your LifePosts sections of the Activity Hub, the user drop-down menu on the top right of your screen, and from the LifePosts Specific Settings area of your Settings page. It does not hide them from search results or from other users. Hidden LifePosts can be made visible again using the same module.
LifePosts Specific Settings
The lower part of your Settings page allows you to manage Co-creators and Contributors, Honoree Information, Visible Milestone Features, and your Privacy & Review Policy for each of your LifePosts. In addition, you can set a special message to appear on a LifePost (more on this below). To manage settings for a specific LifePost, select the LifePost you want to manage in the drop-down menu. Then edit the appropriate settings.
Co-Creators & Contributors: The Co-Creators & Contributors module allows you to make changes to a Contributor’s or Co-Creator’s role, to block a Contributor, or to send anyone on your LifePost a message. You can also invite additional family members and friends to your LifePost from here.
Honoree Information: The Honoree Information module allows you to change any of the information you added about your Honoree or the Honoree’s family and friends during your LifePost setup. Click the Update Honoree Information link to change information about the Honoree. Click the Update Friends and Family Information link to update, add, remove or change those listed there. Be aware that you can also change this from the LifePost Overview page by clicking “Edit” on the box containing background information, or on the LifeStory page by clicking “Edit” on the background box in the sidebar.
Visible Milestone Features: The Visible Milestone Features module allows you to hide or show modules or tools on your LifePosts. You can select whether your Overview, LifeStory, LifeQs or LifeTimeline appear in the post’s navigation. In addition, you can decide whether modules for LifeStory, LifeBook, LifeQs and LifeTimeline appear on your Overview, as well as other modules like the Background box or the Photos & Video module. Tools that you’ve published can also be unpublished here, and the entire LifePost can also be deleted.
Blocked Users: Contributors or Co-Creators you have blocked using the Co-Creators & Contributors module will be listed here. These users have been stripped of their role and will no longer be allowed to leave contributions. If you remove the block, their previous roles will not be restored, but they can leave new contributions on public posts, or request access to semi-public and private ones.
Special Message: The Special Message module allows you to create a message that will appear on most pages of a specific LifePost. This message is designed to be used for special circumstances, like announcements to Contributors about a change in the status of a LifePost honoree. If, for example, you created a Bar Mitzvah LifePost and later wanted to create a graduation LifePost for the same child, you could use the special message to inform Contributors to the Bar Mitzvah LifePost that a newer LifePost exists.
Privacy & Review Policy: The Privacy & Review Policy module allows you to control who sees and contributes to a LifePost. This is also where you can set your own review policy for contributions to your LifePost.
The privacy settings are:
- Public — Anyone can read your LifePost. Photos and text on your LifePosts will be visible through search engines. Any registered user can contribute.
- Semi-Public — Anyone can read but only people to whom you’ve given permission can contribute to this LifePost. Photos and text on your LifePosts will be visible through search engines.
- Private – Only invited guests can read or contribute to this LifePost
If your privacy setting is Semi-Public or Private, anyone who would like to contribute but has not yet been invited would need to request permission. When that happens, you will receive a notification about the request.
The review settings are:
- Publish All Content Automatically: This is the default setting. It allows anyone to make a contribution, which is published automatically without review.
- Review All Contributions: All contributions are reviewed by a Creator or Co-Creator before being published.
If your review setting is not set to automatically publish new contributions, you will be notified when a contribution is made. The notification, most of the time, will contain an excerpt of the contribution and a link to view the full contribution as well as options to approve the contribution or reject it.
Any LifePost whose privacy is set to public or semi-public may be syndicated.